The 2016 Home Run Derby Lineup is Set

Rules and Contestants

MLB Home Run Derby
CINCINNATI, OH - JULY 13: National League All-Star Todd Frazier #21 of the Cincinnati Reds celebrates winning the Gillette Home Run Derby presented by Head & Shoulders at the Great American Ball Park on July 13, 2015 in Cincinnati, Ohio. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

It’s that time of the year. The 2016 Home Run Derby is set for Monday night at Petco Park in San Diego.

Here’s a look at the bracket.

Contestants are ranked 1-8 based on home run totals up to this point in the season. Mark Trumbo, with 26 homers, has the #1 seed. He will be going up against #8 seed, rookie Corey Seager (17 HR). The #2 seed, defending Derby champion Todd Frazier (23 HR) will be going up against the #7 seed, Carlos Gonzalez (18 HR). Adam Duvall of the Reds holds the #3 seed (22 HR) and will be going up against the #6 seed, home crowd favorite,  Wil Myers (19 HR). And lastly, #4 seed Robinson Cano (20 HR) will face the #5 seed, Giancarlo Stanton (19 HR).

Here are the rules of the Home Run Derby according to

• Single-elimination tournament in which the winner of each matchup advances and the loser of each matchup is eliminated.

• If the second batter hits more home runs than the first batter in any matchup, he will be declared the winner and not attempt to hit additional home runs.

• Four minutes per batter for each round. Clock starts with the release of the first pitch. In the first round and semifinals, each batter is entitled to one 45-second “time out.” In the finals, each batter is entitled to two 45-second “time-outs.”

• Thirty seconds of bonus time will be awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 440 feet.

• Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If a tie remains after the swing-off, batters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner. 




Comments are closed.